Governor Appoints James Di Misa as CSM Trustee

portrait of Jim Di Misa
James Di Misa has been appointed to the Board of Trustees serving the College of Southern Maryland by Maryland Gov. Larry Hogan. His term begins July 1, 2017.
Portrait of Jim Di Misa
James Di Misa has been appointed to the Board of Trustees serving the College of Southern Maryland by Maryland Gov. Larry Hogan. His term begins July 1, 2017.

Maryland Gov. Larry Hogan has appointed James Di Misa of Charles County to serve the College of Southern Maryland as trustee, effective July 1, 2017 through 2022. Di Misa will replace current trustee Michael L. Middleton, whose term expires June 30, 2017.

With more than 30 years of banking experience, Di Misa is executive vice president, chief operating officer of Community Bank of the Chesapeake. He joined Community Bank in 2005 as senior vice president in charge of operations. Prior to joining Community Bank, he was executive vice president for Mercantile Southern Maryland Bank in a similar capacity.

Di Misa is immediate past chairman of the board of trustees for the Maryland Bankers School, president and founder of the La Plata Business Association, a board member for the Town of La Plata Ethics Commission and chair of Charles County Rotary Scholarships program.

Previously he has served as president for the Charles County Rotary Club and was a governor appointment (2008-14) to the Tri-County Workforce Investment Board.

Di Misa is a resident of La Plata and has served the college most recently in the role of a director on the CSM Foundation Board. He is a 1979 graduate of CSM, and holds a bachelor of science degree from George Mason University, an MBA from Mount Saint Mary’s University and a Stonier Graduate School of Banking degree from the University of Delaware.

CSM’s Board of Trustees is the governing body providing leadership and oversight of the college’s mission and policies. Members are appointed by the governor for five-year terms. The board consists of nine members, with Calvert, Charles and St. Mary’s counties equally represented. The chair and vice chair are selected by the trustees among themselves annually.

CSM’s trustees in addition to Di Misa are Margaret C. Dunkle, Samuel C. Jones and Jay W. Webster of Calvert County; Lois E. DiNatale and Dorothea Holt Smith of Charles County; and Bradley O. Bates, Theodore L. Harwood and Dr. John W. Roache of St. Mary’s County. Serving as secretary/treasurer to the board is CSM President Dr. Brad Gottfried until his retirement June 30. Effective July 1, Dr. Maureen Murphy as the new president of CSM will serve as secretary/treasurer to the board.

For information about the college’s leadership, visit

A regionally accredited community college that provides programs and services with a special focus on local workforce development to maintain and grow a healthy economy and community, CSM is a two-time silver level recipient of the Maryland Performance Excellence Award. CSM serves more than 24,000 credit and continuing education students at its campuses located in Hughesville, La Plata, Leonardtown and Prince Frederick, as well as a Higher Education Center shared with University of Maryland University College in Waldorf and a Center for Transportation Training in La Plata. For information about CSM, call 301-934-7765 or visit

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.